Vol. 12, No. 1, 2019

Download this article
Download this article For screen
For printing
Recent Issues

Volume 17
Issue 6, 1871–2245
Issue 5, 1501–1870
Issue 4, 1127–1500
Issue 3, 757–1126
Issue 2, 379–756
Issue 1, 1–377

Volume 16, 10 issues

Volume 15, 8 issues

Volume 14, 8 issues

Volume 13, 8 issues

Volume 12, 8 issues

Volume 11, 8 issues

Volume 10, 8 issues

Volume 9, 8 issues

Volume 8, 8 issues

Volume 7, 8 issues

Volume 6, 8 issues

Volume 5, 5 issues

Volume 4, 5 issues

Volume 3, 4 issues

Volume 2, 3 issues

Volume 1, 3 issues

The Journal
About the journal
Ethics and policies
Peer-review process
Submission guidelines
Submission form
Editorial board
Editors' interests
ISSN: 1948-206X (e-only)
ISSN: 2157-5045 (print)
Author index
To appear
Other MSP journals
Boundary behavior of solutions to the parabolic $p$-Laplace equation

Benny Avelin, Tuomo Kuusi and Kaj Nyström

Vol. 12 (2019), No. 1, 1–42

We establish boundary estimates for nonnegative solutions to the p-parabolic equation in the degenerate range p > 2. Our main results include new parabolic intrinsic Harnack chains in cylindrical NTA domains together with sharp boundary decay estimates. If the underlying domain is C1,1-regular, we establish a relatively complete theory of the boundary behavior, including boundary Harnack principles and Hölder continuity of the ratios of two solutions, as well as fine properties of associated boundary measures. There is an intrinsic waiting-time phenomenon present which plays a fundamental role throughout the paper. In particular, conditions on these waiting times rule out well-known examples of explicit solutions violating the boundary Harnack principle.

$p$-parabolic equation, degenerate, intrinsic geometry, waiting time phenomenon, intrinsic Harnack chains, boundary Harnack principle, $p$-stability
Mathematical Subject Classification 2010
Primary: 35K20
Secondary: 35K65, 35B65
Received: 28 October 2015
Accepted: 10 April 2018
Published: 2 August 2018
Benny Avelin
Department of Mathematics
Uppsala University
Tuomo Kuusi
Department of Mathematical Sciences
University of Oulu
Kaj Nyström
Department of Mathematics
Uppsala University