Vol. 13, No. 7, 2020

Download this article
Download this article For screen
For printing
Recent Issues

Volume 16
Issue 9, 1989–2240
Issue 8, 1745–1988
Issue 7, 1485–1744
Issue 6, 1289–1483
Issue 5, 1089–1288
Issue 4, 891–1088
Issue 3, 613–890
Issue 2, 309–612
Issue 1, 1–308

Volume 15, 8 issues

Volume 14, 8 issues

Volume 13, 8 issues

Volume 12, 8 issues

Volume 11, 8 issues

Volume 10, 8 issues

Volume 9, 8 issues

Volume 8, 8 issues

Volume 7, 8 issues

Volume 6, 8 issues

Volume 5, 5 issues

Volume 4, 5 issues

Volume 3, 4 issues

Volume 2, 3 issues

Volume 1, 3 issues

The Journal
About the Journal
Editorial Board
Editors’ Interests
Submission Guidelines
Submission Form
Policies for Authors
Ethics Statement
ISSN: 1948-206X (e-only)
ISSN: 2157-5045 (print)
Author Index
To Appear
Other MSP Journals
Exponential convergence of parabolic optimal transport on bounded domains

Farhan Abedin and Jun Kitagawa

Vol. 13 (2020), No. 7, 2183–2204

We study the asymptotic behavior of solutions to the second boundary value problem for a parabolic PDE of Monge–Ampère type arising from optimal mass transport. Our main result is an exponential rate of convergence for solutions of this evolution equation to the stationary solution of the optimal transport problem. We derive a differential Harnack inequality for a special class of functions that solve the linearized problem. Using this Harnack inequality and certain techniques specific to mass transport, we control the oscillation in time of solutions to the parabolic equation, and obtain exponential convergence. Additionally, in the course of the proof, we present a connection with the pseudo-Riemannian framework introduced by Kim and McCann in the context of optimal transport, which is interesting in its own right.

parabolic optimal transport, Monge–Kantorovich, exponential convergence, Kim–McCann metric, Li–Yau Harnack inequality
Mathematical Subject Classification 2010
Primary: 35K96, 58J35
Received: 2 January 2019
Revised: 21 June 2019
Accepted: 6 September 2019
Published: 10 November 2020
Farhan Abedin
Department of Mathematics
Michigan State University
East Lansing, MI
United States
Jun Kitagawa
Department of Mathematics
Michigan State University
East Lansing, MI
United States