Download this article
Download this article For screen
For printing
Recent Issues
Volume 18, Issue 1
Volume 17, Issue 1
Volume 16, Issue 2
Volume 16, Issue 1
Volume 15, Issue 2
Volume 15, Issue 1
Volume 14, Issue 2
Volume 14, Issue 1
Volume 13, Issue 2
Volume 13, Issue 1
Volume 12, Issue 1
Volume 11, Issue 2
Volume 11, Issue 1
Volume 10, Issue 2
Volume 10, Issue 1
Volume 9, Issue 2
Volume 9, Issue 1
Volume 8, Issue 1
Volume 7, Issue 2
Volume 7, Issue 1
Volume 6, Issue 1
Volume 5, Issue 2
Volume 5, Issue 1
Volume 4, Issue 1
Volume 3, Issue 1
Volume 2, Issue 1
Volume 1, Issue 1
The Journal
About the Journal
Editorial Board
Submission Guidelines
Submission Form
Policies for Authors
Ethics Statement
ISSN: 2157-5452 (e-only)
ISSN: 1559-3940 (print)
Author Index
To Appear
Other MSP Journals
Numerical methods for coupling multigroup radiation with ion and electron temperatures

Cédric Enaux, Sébastien Guisset, Clement Lasuen and Gerald Samba

Vol. 17 (2022), No. 1, 43–78

We study the numerical approximation of a multigroup three temperature plasma model. A reformulation of the model is proposed in order to derive robust convex combination-based schemes. The produced schemes are naturally well-suited to handle stiff source terms and can be analyzed. However, because of the very large size of the resulting linear system, a direct numerical solving cannot be performed in practice if a large number of cells or frequency groups is used. Consequently, a decoupling procedure is presented in order to greatly reduce the numerical cost of the method while keeping the fundamental discrete properties. After detailing the schemes derivation followed by the practical numerical resolution and the decoupling procedure, a numerical analysis is performed, and strong stability properties are proven. Several numerical test cases are carried out to demonstrate the interest of the numerical approach.

multigroup three temperature model, numerical schemes, plasma physics, radiative transfer
Mathematical Subject Classification
Primary: 65Fxx, 65Nxx
Received: 3 December 2020
Revised: 20 April 2021
Accepted: 10 May 2021
Published: 26 February 2022
Cédric Enaux
CEA-DAM Île de France
Sébastien Guisset
CEA-DAM Île de France
Clement Lasuen
CEA-DAM Île de France
Gerald Samba
CEA-DAM Ile de France Bruyères-le-Châtel France