Vol. 16, No. 4, 2021

Download this article
Download this article For screen
For printing
Recent Issues

Volume 19
Issue 4, 541–649
Issue 4, 541–572
Issue 3, 303–540
Issue 2, 157–302
Issue 1, 1–156

Volume 18, 5 issues

Volume 17, 5 issues

Volume 16, 5 issues

Volume 15, 5 issues

Volume 14, 5 issues

Volume 13, 5 issues

Volume 12, 5 issues

Volume 11, 5 issues

Volume 10, 5 issues

Volume 9, 5 issues

Volume 8, 8 issues

Volume 7, 10 issues

Volume 6, 9 issues

Volume 5, 6 issues

Volume 4, 10 issues

Volume 3, 10 issues

Volume 2, 10 issues

Volume 1, 8 issues

The Journal
About the journal
Ethics and policies
Peer-review process
Submission guidelines
Submission form
Editorial board
ISSN (electronic): 1559-3959
ISSN (print): 1559-3959
Author index
To appear
Other MSP journals
Differential quadrature and Adomian decomposition methods for solving thermal vibration of Euler nanobeam resting on Winkler–Pasternak foundation

Somnath Karmakar and Snehashish Chakraverty

Vol. 16 (2021), No. 4, 555–572

We study the effectiveness of the differential quadrature method (DQM) and the Adomian decomposition method (ADM) on free vibrations of an Euler nanobeam resting on a Winkler–Pasternak foundation in a thermal environment. The mathematical formulations and procedures to handle different boundary conditions by both methods are discussed in detail. The effects of the Pasternak foundation parameter, small scale parameter, mechanical properties of material, and thermal coefficients on vibrational frequencies are investigated. The results obtained by DQM and ADM are tabulated along with the exact results, that obtained from analytical formulations and an excellent agreement is observed. A comparative study for the convergence of DQM and ADM approaches is also carried out.

Euler beam theory, differential quadrature method, Adomian decomposition method, nonlocal elasticity
Received: 23 May 2021
Revised: 5 July 2021
Accepted: 9 July 2021
Published: 9 November 2021
Somnath Karmakar
Department of Mathematics
National Institute of Technology Rourkela
Rourkela 769008
Snehashish Chakraverty
Department of Mathematics
National Institute of Technology Rourkela
Rourkela 769008