Vol. 301, No. 1, 2019

Download this article
Download this article For screen
For printing
Recent Issues
Vol. 307: 1  2
Vol. 306: 1  2
Vol. 305: 1  2
Vol. 304: 1  2
Vol. 303: 1  2
Vol. 302: 1  2
Vol. 301: 1  2
Vol. 300: 1  2
Online Archive
The Journal
Editorial Board
Special Issues
Submission Guidelines
Submission Form
ISSN: 1945-5844 (e-only)
ISSN: 0030-8730 (print)
Author Index
To Appear
Other MSP Journals
This article is available for purchase or by subscription. See below.
Loxodromics for the cyclic splitting complex and their centralizers

Radhika Gupta and Derrick Wigglesworth

Vol. 301 (2019), No. 1, 107–142

We show that an outer automorphism acts loxodromically on the cyclic splitting complex if and only if it has a filling lamination and no generic leaf of the lamination is carried by a vertex group of a cyclic splitting. This is the analog for the cyclic splitting complex of Handel–Mosher’s theorem on loxodromics for the free splitting complex. We also show that such outer automorphisms have virtually cyclic centralizers.

PDF Access Denied

However, your active subscription may be available on Project Euclid at

We have not been able to recognize your IP address as that of a subscriber to this journal.
Online access to the content of recent issues is by subscription, or purchase of single articles.

Please contact your institution's librarian suggesting a subscription, for example by using our journal-recom­mendation form. Or, visit our subscription page for instructions on purchasing a subscription.

You may also contact us at contact@msp.org
or by using our contact form.

Or, you may purchase this single article for USD 40.00:

curve graph, loxodromic, free splitting complex, automorphism groups, free factor complex, cyclic splitting complex, free groups
Mathematical Subject Classification 2010
Primary: 20F65
Secondary: 20F28, 20E05, 57M07
Received: 3 February 2018
Revised: 31 August 2018
Accepted: 15 November 2018
Published: 16 September 2019
Radhika Gupta
Department of Mathematics
Technion – Israel Institute of Technology
Derrick Wigglesworth
Department of Mathematical Sciences
University of Arkansas
Fayetteville, AR
United States