About MSP

Building partnerships for a better publishing environment

Math­em­at­ic­al Sci­ences Pub­lish­ers (MSP) hon­ors the best tra­di­tions of qual­ity pub­lish­ing while mov­ing with the cut­ting edge of in­form­a­tion tech­no­logy. We de­vel­op soft­ware and we pub­lish more than 16,000 pages per year. We strive to of­fer the highest qual­ity at reas­on­able prices.

News about MSP

Not for Profit

We are a non­profit 501(c)(3) tax-ex­empt cor­por­a­tion, based in Ber­ke­ley, Cali­for­nia. We be­lieve sci­entif­ic pub­lish­ing should be an in­dustry that helps rather than hinders schol­arly activ­ity. High-qual­ity re­search de­mands high-qual­ity com­mu­nic­a­tion — widely, rap­idly and eas­ily ac­cess­ible to all — and MSP works to fa­cil­it­ate it.

Our Mission  

Top-Quality Publishing

We pro­duce and dis­trib­ute sci­entif­ic and re­search lit­er­at­ure of the high­est qual­ity at the low­est sus­tain­able prices, cov­er­ing math­em­at­ics and oth­er se­lec­ted fields.

Our out­stand­ing ed­it­or­i­al boards and highly se­lect­ive peer-re­view work­flows guar­an­tee the im­pact of the art­icles we pub­lish, while pro­fes­sion­al copy­ed­it­ing and type­set­ting present our con­trib­ut­ors’ re­search in its best archiv­al form.

We provide the highest qual­ity of math­em­at­ic­ally lit­er­ate copy­ed­it­ing in the in­dustry. Pa­pers are ed­ited for gram­mar, con­sist­ency, and clar­ity of ex­pos­i­tion, with the math­em­at­ics laid out at high type­set­ting stand­ards.

For Authors: Policies
MSP and Open Access
Statement on Publishing Ethics


Our ded­ic­a­tion to qual­ity is com­ple­men­ted by our bold use of auto­ma­tion and soft­ware de­vel­op­ment, to re­duce the costs and raise the pro­duc­tion qual­ity of sci­entif­ic pub­lish­ing, aim­ing to in­crease the com­pet­it­ive­ness of non­profit pub­lish­ers and ef­fect change in the in­dustry.

Giving Back

We’re glad to share our ex­pert­ise and soft­ware with ed­it­or­i­al boards, scho­l­ar­ly so­ci­­et­ies, and pub­lish­ers whose mis­sions are com­pat­ible with ours.

MSP of­fers pub­lish­ing ser­vices: su­per­i­or journ­al, pro­ceed­ings and web­site pro­duc­tion and host­ing ser­vices.

We also have a suc­cess­ful soft­ware ser­vice, Ed­it­Flow, for man­aging the ed­it­or­i­al work­flows of re­search journ­als from peer re­view through pro­duc­tion, from sub­mis­sion to print or webpage.

Board of Directors

  • Rob Kirby  (chair)
  • Colin Rourke  (vice chair)
  • Ron Stern  (sec­ret­ary-treas­urer)
  • Bill Cas­sel­man
  • Rafe Mazzeo
  • Wal­ter Neu­mann
  • Ted Sla­man
  • Abby Thompson
  • Paul Vo­jta
  • Car­ol Wood

More about Board Members


  • Rob Kirby  (ex­ec­ut­ive of­ficer)
  • Alex Scorpan  (op­er­a­tions & fin­an­cial of­ficer)
  • Silvio Levy  (dir­ect­or of pub­lish­ing)
  • Emmy Pierce  (de­vel­op­ment man­ager)
  • Gun­nar Mag­nús­son  (as­so­ci­ate pub­lish­er)
  • Sammy Black
  • John Bourke
  • Lisa Bromberg
  • Steph­en Dalton
  • Mark Flanagan
  • An­dreas Fre­und
  • Kat­rina Ho­nigs
  • Rylan Hunt
  • Mor­gan John­son
  • Devlin Mal­lory
  • Peter New­bery
  • Sheila New­bery
  • Mat­thew Tuck­er-Sim­mons
  • Eliza­beth Weaver
  •     and many oth­ers

More about Staff Members
Our Work Culture
Work Opportunities at MSP