Web Publications

Sci­entif­ic pub­lish­ing is evolving. Con­tent is now of­ten served and read as PD­Fs on the screen. Web pub­lic­a­tions them­selves are be­com­ing more prom­in­ent, and al­low a dy­nam­ic present­a­tion not pos­sible with tra­di­tion­al me­dia.

With our first web pub­lic­a­tion, Cel­eb­ra­tio Math­em­at­ica, we are pi­on­eer­ing a dual-out­put pub­lish­ing work­flow, through which even math­em­at­ics-rich art­icles can be pub­lished both as down­load­able PD­Fs and as reg­u­lar webpages in the browser.

Celebratio Mathematica

 Collected Works for the Digital Age

Cel­eb­ra­tio Math­em­at­ica is a new open-ac­cess schol­arly web pub­lic­a­tion that cel­eb­rates math­em­at­ics and re­lated fields, and their people. CM is struc­tured as a series of col­lec­ted-works volumes or, rather, en­hanced guides to the col­lec­ted works of se­lec­ted sci­ent­ists, with the ad­ded ad­vant­ages of elec­tron­ic me­dia.

Cel­eb­ra­tio Math­em­at­ica or­gan­izes, dis­plays and pre­serves bio­graph­ic and bib­li­o­graph­ic in­form­a­tion, in­dex­ing all doc­u­ments deemed worthy of in­clu­sion in a col­lec­ted-works volume. These can in­clude un­pub­lished doc­u­ments, let­ters, in­ter­views, and more — pos­sibly even host­ing those works for which re­pub­lish­ing rights can be se­cured. CM also in­cludes com­ment­ar­ies and sur­veys of the sci­ent­ists’ work, pho­to­graphs, re­col­lec­tions, var­ied mem­or­ab­il­ia, and in­form­a­tion on his or her gradu­ate stu­dents.

Cel­eb­ra­tio Math­em­at­ica’s in­de­pend­ent ed­it­or­i­al board chooses the sci­ent­ists based on sci­entif­ic mer­it, schol­arly in­terest, and ed­it­or­i­al op­por­tun­ity.

Most con­tent on Cel­eb­ra­tio Math­em­at­ica is made avail­able un­der a Cre­at­ive Com­mons At­tri­bu­tion li­cense (CC BY), ex­cept for the bib­li­o­graph­ies (which will be offered as part of the pub­lic do­main) and for such con­tent that the copy­right own­ers (oth­er than MSP) wish to keep un­der a more re­strict­ive li­cense.

Cel­eb­ra­tio Math­em­at­ica is sup­por­ted by pub­lic gen­er­os­ity. Donated con­tri­bu­tions fin­ance the de­vel­op­ment and main­ten­ance of the site, and al­low MSP to provide free and open ac­cess to its con­tent. Please con­sider mak­ing a dona­tion; your gift will be re­served for Cel­eb­ra­tio Math­em­at­ica. Since MSP is a non­profit 501(c)(3) or­gan­iz­a­tion, your gift may be tax de­duct­ible.

Ed­it­or­i­al Board

  • Ro­bi­on C. Kirby  (Univ. of Cali­for­nia, Berke­ley)
  • Robert V. Kohn  (New York Univ.)
  • Hendrik Len­stra  (Univ. of Leiden)
  • Barry C. Mazur  (Har­vard Univ.)
  • James W. Pit­man  (Univ. of Cali­for­nia, Berke­ley)
  • Ruth J. Wil­li­ams  (Univ. of Cali­for­nia, San Diego)
  • Günter M. Zie­g­ler  (Freie Univ. Ber­lin)